The Faymann Cabinet II was sworn in by Federal President Heinz Fischer

Following the swearing-in ceremony, the federal government held its first Ministerial Council session

The members of the new government of Chancellor Faymann’s Cabinet II met in the Federal Chancellery on 16 December 2013 to sign the joint working programme for the period 2013 to 2018. After their meeting, they were received by Federal President Heinz Fischer in the President’s Office at Hofburg. The members of the government and state secretaries swore to "faithfully observe" the Federal Constitution and all laws of the Republic of Austria as well as to fulfil their duties "to the best of their knowledge and belief".

After the swearing-in ceremony, the Federal Chancellor and the ministers returned to the Federal Chancellery to gather for the first session of the Ministerial Council. In according with the agenda of the meeting, duties within the purview of the Chancellery were transferred to the new Chancellery Minister Josef Ostermayer. To allow him perform his preliminary duties, he will be sworn in by Federal President Fischer for the second time in the early evening. Earlier today, Mr. Ostermayer and Ms. Sophie Karmasin had been sworn in as federal ministers without portfolio. They will be entrusted with their respective tasks in the sphere of art and culture as well as family and youth only after adoption of the amendment of the Federal Ministries Act.